Book Countdown: Day 12

It’s finally Christmas Eve, and Christmas is only hours away!  I’ve finally finished all my wrapping, and I’m ready for Christmas morning.  My wisdom teeth (or lack thereof) are healing slowly, but hopefully I’ll be able to eat at least a few cookies…

The final book in the Christmas countdown is one that I hold in very high regard.  It’s a children’s story, but the deeper meaning is often appreciated by adults as well.  It used to be read to every child, but has begun to lose popularity among younger generations.  I’m talking about The Velveteen Rabbit, by Margery Williams.  A small, velveteen rabbit is given to a boy for Christmas, where he is snubbed by the other household toys, many of which are more expensive, fancy and complicated.  The other toys consider themselves Real, but an old rocking horse tells the rabbit that a toy can only become Real if it has been truly loved by a child.  The story follows the rabbit as he becomes a constant companion to the boy, and what happens after he is replaced.

My copy of this story was filled with beautiful, detailed illustrations, and even included my own velveteen rabbit toy.  If you need a gift for a child, or a baby shower this year, I highly recommend you look for a copy of this story.  And if you haven’t read it yourself, talk a quick trip to the library or invest in your own copy.  It’s a sweet story that is guaranteed to make you smile, and maybe even cry a little.

Merry Christmas.

http://www.chapters.indigo.ca/books/Velveteen-Rabbit-Gift-Set-Hardcover-Raiten-DAntonio-Williams/9780757303555-item.html?ikwid=the+velveteen+rabbit&ikwsec=Home

 

2 thoughts on “Book Countdown: Day 12

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑